Your bi-monthly source of the latest products.

Mark Lindsay Tyrell was the overall winner of Unlandscaped, receiving $3,000 for the Diepsloot Environmental Masterplan.

Unlandscaped winners

The inaugural Unlandscaped prize, supported by Landscape Architecture Australia in partnership with Hub Street Equipment, was announced at the 2009 Australian Institute for Landscape Architecture conference, 8 May 2009. The prize is awarded to unrealized landscapes in an effort to promote ideas and debate about landscape architecture by rewarding challenging new work. Mark Lindsay Tyrell was the overall winner, receiving $3,000 for the entry Diepsloot Environmental Masterplan.

“This project goes beyond environmental indices and normative community consultation,” noted the jury. “The surgical precision of the design gestures mediates top-down and bottom-up urban design strategies.”

Robyn Butcher received a High Commendation for City Service. Public Station, and R. Weller, D. Broun and K. McKernan received a High Commendation for Footprint.

The annual program is open to landscape architects, graduates, students and other built environment professionals who are invited to enter their unrealized projects, propositions and scenarios. The 2009 award was judged by Charles Anderson of Stutterheim/Anderson Landscape Architecture, Mark Fuller of EDAW, Jane Irwin of Jane Irwin Landscape Architecture, Garth Paterson of Stockland and Cameron Bruhn of Landscape Architecture Australia. The jury convenor was SueAnne Ware of RMIT University.