Your bi-monthly source of the latest products.

Australian Interior Design Awards

The results of the 2013 Australian Interior Design Awards were revealed at a special 10-year anniversary presentation at Melbourne’s historic Plaza Ballroom on Friday 31 May. Hundreds gathered to honour the winners and to celebrate the prestigious awards program’s 10th birthday.

Park House by Leeton Pointon Architects + Interiors and Allison Pye Interiors received the premier Interior Design Excellence and Innovation award, as well as the Residential Design award. According to the jury, the project demonstrated outstanding attention to the design of three-dimensional form, materiality and detail, and provided incredibly comfortable spaces that would be a joy to live in. “The designers have demonstrated a respectful and empathic understanding of residential design by offering a variety of delightful spaces for the owners to inhabit.”

The wide range of projects recognized and the abundance of diverse, innovative project submissions persuaded the judges that Australia’s local talent is more than able to compete on the global stage. “From hospitality and workplace, to residential and retail design, all categories were well represented,” says event manager Jacinta Reedy.

Co-presented by the Design Institute of Australia, Designex and Artichoke magazine, the awards have been Australia’s most prominent and well-regarded vehicle for recognizing professional interior design since their inception a decade ago. This year’s jury comprised Paul Brace, director of interiors at Jackson Teece (NSW); Miriam Fanning, founding director of Mim Design (Vic); Will Fung, co-founder of Co-Ap (NSW); Matt Gibson, director of Matt Gibson A + D (Vic); Kirsten Stanisich, director of SJB (NSW); Heidi Stowers, partner at Gray Puksand (Vic); Christina Waterson, creative director of How We Create (Qld); and Steve Woodland, design director at Cox Howlett & Bailey Woodland (WA). The jury is supported by John Gertsakis of Infoactiv (Vic) as sustainability chairperson, and Joanne Cys (FDIA), Associate Professor in Interior Architecture at the University of South Australia, as jury convenor.

The support of corporate sponsors is pivotal to the program’s success. These market-leading organizations are Forbo Flooring Systems, Dulux, The Laminex Group, Smeg, Space, Barrisol, Isis and The Hatton.

For full coverage see Artichoke’s special Australian Interior Design Awards issue. See more in Artichoke issue 43. Visit and

Image 1: Park House by Leeton Pointon Architects + Interiors and Allison Pye Interiors, winner of the Interior Design Excellence and Innovation award and the Residential Design award. Photography: Peter Bennetts.

Image 2: Tongue and Groove by Tobias Partners, winner of the Retail Design award. Photography: Justin Alexander.

Image 3: Slattery Australia by Elenberg Fraser, winner of the Workplace Design award. Photography: Peter Clarke.