Your bi-monthly source of the latest products.

Loft Apartment, West Melbourne by Adrian Amore Architects, winner of the Premier Award for Interior Design Excellence and Innovation and the Residential Design award. Photography: Fraser Marsden.

Urban Coffee Farm & Brew Bar by Hassell, winner of the Installation Design award and Sustainability Advancement award. Photography: Bonnie Savage.

Garangula Gallery by Fender Katsalidis Mirams Architects, winner of the Public Design award. Photography: John Gollings.

2014 Australian Interior Design Awards

Results announced at gala dinner celebration

The results of the 2014 Australian Interior Design Awards were revealed at a special presentation at The Ballroom, Hilton Sydney on Friday 16 May. Hundreds of architects and designers gathered to honour this year’s winners. 

Loft Apartment, West Melbourne by Adrian Amore Architects received the premier award for Interior Design Excellence and Innovation, as well as the Residential Design award. According to the jury, the project was distinguished by its fresh interpretation of design.

“The spatial planning within the apartment reveals the hand of the designer; a skilful hand that expertly creates and explores volume, plasticity and light, culminating in an interior that is invigorating, sumptuous and liveable.”

The wide range of projects recognized and the abundance of diverse, innovative projects persuaded the judges that Australia’s local talent is better than ever. 

“With record entries in the Hospitality and Workplace categories, this year’s awards showcase the best of Australian design,” says event manager Jacinta Reedy.

“The pool of winners at this year’s awards represents some of the brightest talents in Australia’s design industry. The jury recognized in these projects new directions in interior design, including clever use of raw materials, a love of simplicity and restrained approach to design.”

Co-presented by the Design Institute of Australia, Designex and Artichoke magazine, the awards have been Australia’s most prominent and well-regarded program for recognizing professional interior design for eleven years. This year’s jury comprised Susanna Bilardo, director, Enoki (SA); Matthew Blain, principal, Hassell (NSW); Hamish Guthrie, director, Hecker Guthrie (Vic); Victoria Judge, associate, Smart Design Studio (NSW); Paul Kelly, director, Paul Kelly Design (NSW); Geraldine Maher, principal, Jackson Architecture (Vic); Ryan Russell, director, Russell & George (Vic); and Christina Waterson, principal, Christina Waterson Studio (Qld). The jury was supported by John Gertsakis of Infoactiv Group (Vic) as sustainability adviser, and Joanne Cys (FDIA), associate professor in interior architecture at the University of South Australia, as jury convenor. 

The 2014 Australian Interior Design Awards would not be possible without corporate supporters Forbo Flooring Systems, Dulux, Laminex, Smeg, Space, Bespoke, Isis and The Hatton.

For full coverage see Artichoke issue 47. |