Your bi-monthly source of the latest products.

Aiden Murphy and Aaron Peters won this year’s Award with a compact courtyard house concept.

Boral Design Award

A “modest and delightful” courtyard house by Aiden Murphy and Aaron Peters from Cox Rayner Architects and Kerry Hill Architects (Queensland) won the professional category in this year’s Boral Design Award. The runner up was Justin Wight, Paul Townsin and Michael Schaple from South Australia’s Whatever Studio, while Manus Leung of the University of New South Wales won the student category.

Entrants were asked to respond to Australia’s changing housing needs and reduced land sizes, taking into consideration adaptability, sustainability and affordability. Eligible entries specified selected Boral products including timber, bricks, pavers, decorative concrete, roof tiles, windows and bifold doors.